Senate Passes Anti-Terror Bill With Applause From Conservative Senators

Well folks the order of accountability seems to be the theme today, so I have to start by saying I was wrong.  I was wrong to believe in an institution that clearly can’t see past their own crackers, and gourmet meals. I was wrong to have hope that for once the red chamber would rise above the house of commons and display sober second thought.  I was wrong to believe that the Senate is looking to redeem itself from scandal, and I was wrong to believe accountability and civil liberties remain a core principle of the Conservative caucus.

The Senate passed the anti-terror bill with NO amendments with thunderous applause from the Conservative senators.  Final vote count: Yay, 44. Nay, 28. Abstentions, 0  It now receives royal assent, and is now the law of the land.  Passing the anti-terror bill with no amendments means the Senate beleives (counter to experts that testified) this law is constitutional.  More on the political fall out of the vote to come soon..

 

 

, , , ,

